top of page

Fall Break In Tokyo!

Here we go!

Finally a way to get things up and running to showcase our travels as well as how we did it. If we can do it, anyone can! After our Honeymoon in Kauai, our initial thought was to travel once a year. Twice if we're lucky. In about August of 2016, we came across skyscanner.com to browse flights out to different places. We were amazed to find flights to Tokyo, Round-Trip, for $688. Just hearing that made our hearts jump! I have always thought prices ranged in the $1000 area but for a price that low, we couldn't resist. The thing with low-cost flight websites is that prices change constantly so we recommend that you are plan well in advanced and be confident that that is what you want to get and where you want to go.

I served my LDS Mission in Fukuoka Japan from 2011-2013. After coming home, I never thought I would actually have an opportunity to go back. This was the moment and I didn't want this to slip away. So, at 4:30 am on my way to the bathroom, I checked my phone and saw the tickets were at the price we wanted and the rest is history!

Once we knew that going to Japan was actually going to happen, we needed to look for a place to stay. Hotels would be a bit expensive especially since we planned on being there for 7 nights. We decided to try a site called airbnb.com. (Description of this website in the next post.) This site provides accommodations across the globe and at prices that you'll never see at a hotel. Because everyday was going to be planned to the fullest, we just needed a place to sleep, a bathroom, shower, and a washer at the very least. We were fortunate to find a nice apartment room with the mentioned amenities for only $19 a night!

Tokyo is such an awesome place and it was great for me to converse again in the Japanese language. So many nostalgic moments that I can still remember to this day.

.

bottom of page